Day 27 and Budget Update

Breakfast: Banana baked oatmeal with peanut butter (prep time: a minute to spread the peanut butter)

Lunch: Quinoa with green beans, almonds, hard boiled eggs, garlic, oil and lemon juice (prep time: a minute to pack up in the morning)

Dinner: Turkey stew (ground turkey, purple potatoes, carrots, celery, onions, garlic, broth, and herbs) (prep time: 15 minutes in the morning to brown the turkey and combine ingredients in a crockpot – about 8 hours in the crockpot)

Snacks: A couple handfuls of popcorn (made with coconut oil and curry spices), carrots and guacamole

Shopping: I did stock up shopping for the next four weeks. Here’s what I bought:

  • 1 package of organic boneless, skinless chicken thighs (6-8 thighs each package at $4.99/lb – this package was $6.34)
  • 1 whole organic chicken ($12.63)
  • 1 3lb pkg antibiotic-free ground turkey ($8.97)
  • One 10lb bag yellow onions ($4.99)
  • A couple heads garlic ($1.12)
  • 1 5lb bag organic carrots ($4.49)
  • 2 cans organic diced tomatoes ($3.98)
  • 2 cans organic tomato paste ($1.78)
  • 1 bag organic dried lentils ($2.69)
  • 2 cans organic chickpeas ($1.98)
  • 1 jar organic peanut butter ($3.99)
  • 1 12-oz bag organic almonds ($8.99)
  • 1/2 lb organic sunflower seeds (Per pound price is $3.99 – I got about a half pound and it came to $1.92)
  • 2 cans wild albacore tuna ($2.98)
  • 1 2lb bag organic blueberries ($8.99)
  • 1 23-oz jar of extra virgin coconut oil ($13.99)
  • 1 bottle extra virgin olive oil ($5.99)
  • 1 package freeze dried fruit ($4.99 – I got this at Trader Joe’s)
  • Total = 100.81

I also bought my produce for the week. Here’s what I got:

  • 1 bag avocados ($4.99)
  • 3 small purple potatoes (Per pound price is $2.49 – this came to $2.12)
  • 1 bunch organic broccoli with long stems ($2.99)
  • 1 dozen organic cage-free brown eggs ($3.99)
  • 1 32-oz carton almond milk ($2.99)
  • 5 organic bananas (Per pound price is $0.69 – this came to $1.57)
  • 1lb organic strawberries ($4.99)
  • 1 cabbage (clean 15 non-organic, per pound price is $0.79 – this came to $2.76)
Total = $26.40
Budget Notes:
I’ve been doing pretty well with my budget over all. I spent a little extra money here and there on some healthy snacks when I’ve had people over (Paul and I are pretty social) – whole grain crackers and feta, sliced fresh pineapple, pistachios, and homemade guacamole are my favorite snacks in these situations. I also purchased some convenience food when I was in a bit of a food emergency (larabars, beef jerky).
Overall, we spent about $240 on food over the first four weeks of the Daniel Plan, including snacks and food emergencies. This was an average of $60 per week for two people. This is a little more than my typical budget (about $200 for four weeks), but as I mentioned before, this is the most difficult time of the year to be eating real food on a budget. Nothing is fresh locally, so produce is about as expensive as it gets. The first four weeks also included the detox portion of the Daniel Plan, which is more expensive than the Daniel Plan typically will be moving forward.
2 thoughts on “Day 27 and Budget Update

  1. Back on track with things and have found that I don’t need coffee in the morning….been having a cup of tea and that seems to do the trick. Been craving salt lately but found out why yesterday. Funny how our bodies work like that. I have found that because my body no longer tolerates dairy, gluten, or sugar that I know must really learn how to cook. This is a chore that I loathe, but I am willing to work at it to keep this healthy lifestyle up. I feel better for sure, and my kids are finally beginning to make better choices. Not all the time…..but it is a start. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

