Day 20

Well, we are half way through the first 40 days of the Daniel Plan! I celebrated by having some non-GMO organic blue corn chips with organic salsa! This is not technically a whole food, but there are very few (and all recognizable) ingredients in these foods. Here’s what else I ate today:

Breakfast: Banana baked oatmeal with peanut butter (prep time: about a minute to spread the peanut butter since I made the oatmeal ahead of time)

Lunch: Cooked split peas with carrot-sesame salad and a hard-boiled egg, a handful of almonds and sunflower seeds (prep time: I made the eggs and split peas last night and it took about 45 minutes total – it only took a minute or two to pack everything up this morning)

Dinner: White bean, cabbage soup (with celery, carrots, onions, thyme, and veggie broth) (prep time: about 2 1/2 hours, 15 minutes of which was active. We did a quick-soak which took about an hour that we didn’t have to be in the kitchen, It took about 15 minutes to combine all of the ingredients, then it took at least another hour to cook)

Shopping: I did my weekly shopping a little early this week. I was a little over budget again, but I needed to stock up on chili powder since chili is one of my staple foods. I will probably have to do a big stock-up trip soon. Here’s what I bought:

  • 1 bag organic green beans ($3.99)
  • 1 head cabbage (clean 15 non-organic, $2.17)
  • 1 bunch organic celery ($2.49)
  • 5 organic bananas ($1.23)
  • 1 bin organic spring green mix ($3.99)
  • A few shiitake mushrooms ($1.89)
  • Chili powder ($2.49)
  • Blue Diamond unsweetened almond milk ($2.99)
  • Organic cage-free brown eggs ($3.99)
  • 1 bunch (2 heads) organic broccoli with long stems ($2.99)
  • Total: $28.22
Leave a Reply

