Day 14

Today I’ve been a little tired again, but not as bad as yesterday. Here’s what I ate:

Breakfast: A runny egg with some sauteed asparagus (prep time: 10 minutes)

Lunch: Lentils with turnips and spinach (prep time: less than 5 minutes)

Dinner: Leftover chili with cornbread (I make this with lots of substitutions. Basically it’s almond milk, coconut oil, an egg, whole wheat flour, cornmeal, salt, and baking powder) (prep time: 25 minutes to warm up chili and make the cornbread)

Shopping for next week:

  • 1 4lb bag of grapefruit ($5.99)
  • A few purple potatoes (organic not available, $2.00 – unit price $2.49 per pound)
  • 1 5lb bag organic carrots ($4.49)
  • 1 11-oz pack organic spring mix ($3.99)
  • 5 organic bananas ($1.00 – unit price $0.69 per pound)
  • A 12-oz bag of organic mixed berries ($4.99)
  • Almond milk ($2.99)
  • Organic eggs ($3.99)
  • Total = $29.44*

*I’ve been under budget a lot this month and I needed to stock up on smoothie ingredients so I let myself go a little over this week. I also picked up some additional healthy snack items (nuts and guacamole) this week because we have a guest staying with us this weekend. Community is worth going over budget sometimes!

4 thoughts on “Day 14

  1. I have not been shopping yet this week. It will be a bigger trip for me because I have not been in 2 weeks so we need most everything. But at least I know that 99% of it will be healthy….real food.

    Like

  2. Just want all you guys to know one day of my healthy diet
    Breakfast
    One bacon, cheese, sausage McMuffin
    Apple pie
    Milk shake
    Lunch
    Wendee’s triple burger
    32 oz soda
    Large fries
    Supper
    One whole pizza
    6 pack Budwiser
    1 baby carrot

    I would think the baby carrot would make me feel better but it didn’t, must of been the apple pie.Just kidding, all of you are helping me eat better, Thanks to all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

