Day 12

So today was a beautiful day! I got to get some good sun for my tomato seedlings! (and for myself) I also tend to find that it’s easier to eat well when it’s nice out. I have started drinking coffee again and I’ve found that I’m more aware of when I’m getting dehydrated then I used to be. I had to drink a lot of extra water today with the coffee back in my diet.

Here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: Blueberry spinach smoothie (prep time: 5 minutes)

Lunch: Leftovers from Easter dinner! (prep time: 5 minutes to heat up the food)

Dinner: Broccoli, onion, shiitake mushroom frittata – I love my cast iron skillet! (prep time: 40 minutes – 10 minutes to assemble, 10 on the stove, 20 minutes to bake)

Snacks: A banana with peanut butter and cinnamon, homemade granola with almond milk – recipe:

  • 5 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (sometimes I use 1/2 oats 1/2 raw buckwheat groats for extra protein)
  • 1 cup dried cranberries, unsweetened (or other dried fruit – Trader Joe’s sells sugar-free freeze-dried fruit)
  • 1/2 cup almonds (or other nuts)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup honey (use maple syrup, agave nectar, or 4 scoops stevia if you need to substitute)

Combine oats, dried fruit, and almonds in a bowl. Add remaining ingredients and toss to coat. Spread mixture in a thin layer on two baking sheets. Bake in a 250 degree oven for about 30 minutes. Stir mixture and return to oven for another 15-30 minutes, or until mixture is crunchy but not burned. Allow mixture to cool to room temperature. Yields 12 – 1/2 cup servings.

Preparations for the week: Cooked lentils with turnips and greens for lunches for the rest of the week

2 thoughts on “Day 12

  1. I have found that adding coffee back os not only necessary (for my families sanity), but my body is a little sensitive to caffeine . I notice that my one cup I allow myself, which I drink with just some stevia in the raw, messes with my blood sugar a bit. I also found that my body needed more water when I have that cup in the morning!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

