Day 3

It’s the weekend and for me that means a pretty busy schedule! That means today I’m making dinner for two days so I don’t have to put time into it tomorrow. A lot of being successful on the Daniel Plan is preparation. Here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: blueberry, dandelion green, and chia seed smoothie (prep time: 5 minutes)

Lunch: Avocado egg salad topped with sprouts! (prep time: 20 minutes unless you have hard-boiled eggs ahead of time) This is really delicious, here’s the recipe:

1 avocado
4 hard-boiled eggs
1 tbsp lemon juice
Salt, and pepper to taste
4 pieces of lettuce
A handful of sprouts and/or chopped green onions (optional)
Mash all ingredients except for the lettuce and sprouts with a spoon. Serve the mixture on a bed of lettuce and topped with sprouts.  Serves 2.

Dinner: Citrus marinade for chicken skewers (from the Daniel Plan book) – As usual I have some modifications. There are a lot of types of vinegar around, most of which are healthy and delicious. Over time it’s possible to find ways on a budget to keep multiple types around, but right now I just have cider vinegar so I will use that instead of balsamic vinegar. I am also only using lemon juice, I didn’t purchase lime juice. I’m also making rice and broccoli sautéed in olive oil and garlic (prep time: 5 minutes to start chicken marinating in the morning + 30 minutes or less at dinner). To save time: I cooked two extra chicken thighs for tomorrow’s salads. This didn’t really add anything to the prep time for tonight’s meal but it will make tomorrow’s prep time almost nothing.

Snacks: fruit at church

Leave a Reply

