Day 1

So today I started my detox! Here’s what I ate:

Breakfast: a blueberry, dandelion green, and chia seed smoothie (like the recipe I posted here – also very similar to the blueberry and spinach flax smoothie recipe in the Daniel Plan book) (prep time: 5 minutes)

Lunch: Lettuce wraps – but because the nitrate-free lunchmeat that the Daniel Plan book recommends is expensive I actually made lentils with taco seasoning for the filling (I made the lentils ahead of time and had lots of leftovers for future meals). I also topped the wraps with some sprouts (how to sprout your own lentils – these taste kind of like the alfalfa sprouts that you can buy in the store) and green onions for extra crunch and vitamins (prep time: 30 minutes initially, about 5 minutes to make the wraps in the morning)

Here’s the recipe for the lentil filling – believe it or not these are really good:

  • 2 cups uncooked green lentils
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt, or to taste (I usually just use a pinch)
  • 4 cups water

Directions: combine all ingredients in a saucepan. Cover with a lid and put on the stove in high until it comes to a boil. Lower heat to medium-low, enough to maintain a simmer. Cook for about 20 minutes, or until the lentils are tender and the water is absorbed. Chill before using. This makes about 8 servings.

Dinner: Veggie stir fry and rice. This is pretty simple – tonight I used cabbage, carrots, onions, and broccoli stalks and I scrambled an egg into the rice for extra protein. From a time perspective, stir fry is pretty quick – most of my time was spent chopping (and brown rice takes about 30 minutes). Really I think this recipe takes us a little over 30 minutes total – and this is one of the more time consuming recipes I do on this plan.

Snacks: Carrot sticks with garlicky white bean dip (recipe from the daniel plan book)

For folks trying to be frugal: I save all of my vegetable scraps (i.e. carrot ends, onion peelings, the tough center of the cabbage) for making broth. This is some extra work and time, but I just really love fresh broth.

Leave a Reply

