Introductions

I have been following the Daniel Plan about 80% of the time for the past year. This is my third time doing the Daniel Plan detox with a group. What I have found is that following the recipe and meal plans provided in the book is extremely difficult for me (and a lot of other people I’ve talked) to for two primary reasons:

  1. Eating primarily whole, real foods is expensive
  2. Whole, real foods need to be cooked, which takes a lot of time

As a supporter of the Slow Food Movement I actually think that it is a really healthy thing for us to slow down a little in our lives and spend more time on basics like cooking food. However, THIS ISN’T ALWAYS REALISTIC FOR REAL PEOPLE LIVING IN THE REAL WORLD.

The purpose of this blog is to document how my husband and I complete the 10-day Daniel Plan detox and subsequent initial 30 days (40 days total) on only $50 a week. I will not be sticking strictly to the recipes in the Daniel Plan book – over the past year I have had to get creative in how I follow this plan, substituting vegetables and fruits that are the most available and inexpensive and using alternative recipes I’ve found that follow the basic principles outlined in the Daniel Plan book.

I have also found that eating more repetitively, while it is kind of boring, is cheaper! If you cook to have leftovers and are okay with eating the same breakfast several days in a week you will find it much more affordable to follow the Daniel Plan! I have lost a lot of weight and gotten extremely healthy following my own slightly amended version of the plan.

One of the most difficult parts of starting this plan in the early spring is the lack of fresh local produce. Buying fresh vegetables and fruits from a local farmer’s market is a great way to save money on this plan – especially if you go for the vegetables that are in season and plentiful. I will be trying to avoid relying on frozen vegetables as much as possible during the course of this plan, but I do want to let you know that this is the most difficult time of year to do this! I’m not trying to discourage you, but rather to encourage you that this plan will be much easier to continue following once summer and fall crops become available!

I hope that the upcoming entries to this blog will be helpful to you as you start to navigate the first few weeks of this plan! Feel free to add comments and share any useful resources or helpful hints that you have discovered along the way!

Disclaimer: I am not a health professional in any way! This is just an account of how I am trying to follow the principles laid out in the Daniel Plan in a way that is efficient with my time and keeps me on my budget.

One thought on “Introductions

Leave a Reply

